Home / New Releases / New Albums added to RRC / IMPERIA – Tears Of Silence

IMPERIA – Tears Of Silence

imperia_coverIMPERIA is an atmospheric metal band who’s sound is especially evident by the distinguished voice of Helena Iren Michaelsen, who sings in a variety of styles from deep emotional feelings to extreme operatic expressions and grunts.

IMPERIA’s music is full of vivacity, it is heavy, bombastic and orchestral, but it also contains elements of pure metal. The band is a true cross-border unit of musicians originating from different countries: Norway,Finland, Germany and Belgium.

The first release of IMPERIA was the cover song “Lotus Eaters” for a Dead Can Dance tribute album, which was released in the spring of 2004. In the summer of 2004 IMPERIA played their first gigs and also recorded their debut album “The Ancient Dance Of Qetesh”, which was released in autumn of 2004.

In 2005 the band recorded another project of Helena called Angel. The album “A Woman’s Diary – Chapter I” was released by Black Lotus Records in the spring of 2005. Though the style of the album was very varied and less metal the band succeeded to demonstrate their versatility and musicianship.

Towards the end of 2005 IMPERIA had written enough new material for the second full length. The band teamed up with the German Massacre Records. The second IMPERIA album was titled as “Queen Of Light” and was released in early 2007. To support the album, IMPERIA toured European festivals like Tuska in Finland, Battle Of Metal in Germany and Magic Circle Festival II in Germany. IMPERIA was also featured on the MCM Festival DVD with two live tracks.

In the autumn of 2010 IMPERIA started recording their third album “Secret Passion”. The recordings took place in different studios and countries this time. “Secret Passion” was released in 2011 and it received excellent reviews in the metal press. The band played gigs in several countries and at festivals like Metal Female Voices XI in Belgium and Magic Circle Festival in Helsinki, Finland.

IMPERIA started to work on the next album in 2014. In April 2015 IMPERIA entered the Spacelab Studio in Germany once more and recorded 13 tracks for the new album.

The title “Tears Of Silence” was chosen as a title for the new album. This time, the band went for a more straight forward approach with the song material. The songs are straight epic metal songs, combined with folk elements, huge orchestrations and very varied. You can also hear a lot of acoustic instruments next to traditional metal this time. There are flutes and whistles, bagpipes,
bouzoukis, acoustic guitars, violins and also a Russian choir on the album.

Vocal-wise Helena goes beyond the usual and you can even hear heavy grunts on some songs. The album is full of emotions and musical styles, a true musical adventure!


  1. Silence Is My Friend
  2. Crossroads
  3. Broken (When The Silence Cries)
  4. Away
  5. Friheten Vil Seire
  6. My Screaming Heart
  7. Motherlove
  8. The Vikingsong
  9. Spirit Chase (Keep Fighting)
  10. Innocent Child
  11. Wings Of Hope

Digipak Bonus Tracks

  1. We’ll Be Free
  2. Broken Hearts


Links :





Check Also

ADEPT – Sleepless

Is there a better or more beautiful reason for lack of a good night`s sleep …

MAMMOTH MAMMOTH – Mammoth Bloody Mammoth

MAMMOTH MAMMOTH are a heavy rock band from Melbourne Australia that smash the shit out …

Leave a Reply